Always Remember

Standard

The sun setting behind the trees that whispered,
dances of pink and cherry reds across the sky,
forbidden talks and moments shared and lost by us,
and the silvers of rain etched into your eyes.

Warm embraces that should have never broken,
and that second that I had to break away
because we knew that now, and forever, this was sinful
even if the words came more impossible to say.

The first time that you told me that you loved me
and the stop that kept me wondering the truth,
your next love on a list of many,
and my second, for I was still lost in my youth.

And the kiss that we were never meant to share,
in a moment that should have never come to be,
in the spark that exploded in my chest,
and the moment that you decided against me.

Always remember we began as sin and promise
to a love that shouldn’t have blossomed as it did.
Beneath a sky that wept its tears of Heaven’s sorrow
upon the two who started out as kids.

We’ve all made mistakes. The purpose of this was mostly to showcase that even mistakes can lead to something beautiful. Never regret the past. If you are happy, you can never ask to go back and change anything. I’m not saying that I’m that girl who think she’s all high and mighty because she wouldn’t go back and change anything–anyone who says that is LYING. But the truth is, I wouldn’t want to change anything big in my life because I’m happy now. And I can’t ask for any more than that.

Sure, I’d love to live without regrets. But that’ll never happen. You just have to roll with what you have, and make the best of things. That’s what being an optimist is about. Forgiving yourself and others their mistakes, and never falling to regret, but always remembering.

About Mattie J.

My name is Mattie J. Hamilton, and I am seventeen years old. I live in a cute little house in the country in Southern Indiana, and have lived there my entire life. I self-published two books of poetry a few years ago, but I much prefer writing fiction of poetry, journalism, or any other sort of writing. I'm somewhat new to the blogging world, and I may come off as a bit of an ameteur, but hey, I am an ameteur. Proud of it. After all, I'm just a kid, and I have plenty of time to learn.

Leave a Reply

