Upon my Bedside Table

Standard

Every once in awhile I am struck with inspiration. Most often, this inspiration coincides with an overdose of music by one of my personal favorite poets of all time: Adam Young of Owl City (and formerly, Sky Sailing). I’ll wake up in the middle of night with words running through my mind and when I wake again in the morning, the words will be written on a piece of paper on my bedside table. This morning it was a single stanza that could really be a continuation of the first poem I posted to this site.

You are the sun in unknown skies, the light to distant lands.
You are the tilted moon and the glittering stars, and still you don’t understand.
You are the reason for my breath, the comprehension to my mind,
And among a sea of diamonds, you’re the only one that shines.

~For Anthony

As it has been a couple days since my last post, I decided to go ahead and post this. I apologize for not keeping up with my posts, I’ve just been horribly busy with hospital visits and spending time with Anthony. I just haven’t had the time. I will try my best to try to be better about that.

On another note, I would like to mention the moral of this short little poem: you are beautiful. Yes, you. The reader. Someone out there, whether you know it or not, loves you. Someone out there thinks you’re beautiful. And they always will. I didn’t believe it once. But it’s true.

About Mattie J.

My name is Mattie J. Hamilton, and I am seventeen years old. I live in a cute little house in the country in Southern Indiana, and have lived there my entire life. I self-published two books of poetry a few years ago, but I much prefer writing fiction of poetry, journalism, or any other sort of writing. I'm somewhat new to the blogging world, and I may come off as a bit of an ameteur, but hey, I am an ameteur. Proud of it. After all, I'm just a kid, and I have plenty of time to learn.

13 responses »

  1. OMG Mattie! You sound exactly like me. Sometimes I go to sleep thinking nothing at all and then I wake up at 2 or 3 a.m with blurry eyes pushing my way into the kitchen for some water. Then all of a sudden words just pop into my head. I’m 17 years old to and I’ve been writing for forever. I’m also an amateur but who cares. Gotta start somewhere right! =) Anyway, it’s nice to know that on those mornings mornings, i’m not goin crazy and sum1 else does the same thing lol thanks =)

    • Nope, definitely not alone ^_^ Most writers tend to do that, it seems. Granted, you bring that up to someone who doesn’t write and he/she looks at you like you’re utterly insane. Lol

    • What I don’t understand is the people who ask me why
      I get emotional about writing. “Why does it matter? It’s just a fictional character.” What do you mean what does it matter?! Of course it matters, I created this character! She’s my metaphorical child and I love her just as much as I would if she was real! I pretty much gave birth to her and she’s going through a lot of crap right now so leave her alone! Lol, I hate people who act as if writing is nothing more than making up stories. But I digress, I’ll step off my pet-peeves soapbox. =)

  2. lol i get exactly what ur saying! I created this person. and sumtimes the characters i make up r the things i feel myself but am not brave enuff to say so i write it down. It’s like sum part of me that i transformed into a whole different person in a whole new body so i’m of course gonna love my character becuz sum parts of her are me. Writing is hard work. At least some ppl appreciate. I try not to pay attention to crazies who don’t understand us lol

    • I think all characters have a small part of the writer in him/her. Well, all main characters at least. I once had a character who was truly evil. Would kill anyone who stood in her way, even her own sister. She was the complete opposite of who I am (I shudder at even the thought of actually harming someone), and yet, I still managed to relate to her. I shared her love of children and her fear of true love. That was one of the few characters I feel really ran away with me. I’m sad to say I don’t really know anyone who actually appreciates it. I have one other friend who is a writer, and she and I aren’t all that close. All of my other friends are indifferent about the matter and quite often call me crazy. But hey, what do they know? It’s the crazy people that change the way the world thinks, which is what a writer is supposed to do in the first place.

      • yes exactly. and those 2 aspects sound just like me. Love of children and fear of true love. no one ever understands that last part but i want to find my true love but at the same time the thought scares the crap out of me and i can’t explain it. and as for the character that’s truly evil, its okay. sumtimes the characters i think of r completely opposite of me to and i love them anyway. and it sucks that u dont know anyone who appreciates it. My best friend and i r always reading and writing. we trade books for ideas and we’re planning on publishing a book together. I’m sure while ur blogging, u’ll find a lot of ppl that share ur same love for writing. And besides, i found u =) there’s so many others.

  3. I think the “fear of love” thing comes in because of the fear of vulnerability. One can only love truly after being truly vulnerable to someone, and giving someone that much power over you is, in every essence, terrifying. I once had a best friend that I was working on a novel with, but halfway through she decided she hated my guts and we never got to finish it ^_^; Lol, it’s nice to have another teenager on this site who gets it. =) Mind if I put your site on my blogroll?

    • yeah. it’s the power that that person has over u that really makes it scary. knowing ur not in control and that that person is over ur emotions. and no problem. of course i don’t mind. And i’m so sorry about ur friend. completely uncalled for.

      • Oh, it’s completely okay. I’m not the most intelligent person in the world when it comes to picking friends. To tell the truth, the only person I have remained friends with for more than a couple years or so is the guy I’m going out with right now. Pretty much everybody else ditched when they realized I’m more focused on my writing than I ever will be for them. Ah, the only downside to being a writer. You tend to turn into a bit of a loner. Luckily enough, I’m surprisingly okay with being on my own.

  4. that’s a good friend. And ur definately right. Being a writer dus leave u on ur own usually. But sometimes that’s good. U grow to be more independent and know how to handle things on ur own. U become comfortable with ur own silence.

Leave a Reply

