Smile

Standard

Smile.

Because you are so much more.

You are
the air that I breathe, the breath that kept me alive.
You are
the silence in the crowd, the sole voice in my mind.
You are
the hope in lost causes, the reasons to tread on.
You are
the memories in my thoughts every moment you’re gone.

You are so much more to the world.

You are
the only one who still cares for everyone else.
You are
the only one in the world who doesn’t live for himself.
You are
a light in the void, beyond a reason or doubt.
You are
everything to anyone who still sees you now.

But please.
Remain my everything instead?

Smile.

Because I love you.

About Mattie J.

My name is Mattie J. Hamilton, and I am seventeen years old. I live in a cute little house in the country in Southern Indiana, and have lived there my entire life. I self-published two books of poetry a few years ago, but I much prefer writing fiction of poetry, journalism, or any other sort of writing. I'm somewhat new to the blogging world, and I may come off as a bit of an ameteur, but hey, I am an ameteur. Proud of it. After all, I'm just a kid, and I have plenty of time to learn.

4 responses »

  1. I like the emphazis on “You are”. It stresses how important this particular person is to the poet. It was nice reading a loving poem because the last poem I wrote was very depressing. This brought my spirits up. If you’re writing this poem to anyone particular I’m sure that if they read it they would “smile”.

    • I know what you mean about depressing poetry. I have a bad habit of writing only poetry that makes me sad because I write best when I’m sad. It seems like that’s the case for a lot of poets. And the guy I wrote this for probably won’t read it. At least not yet. He knows I write, but I’ve never told him about this site. I might eventually, but I don’t know when. None of my friends know about it. In fact, the only person who does is my mother. Have you told the people you know about yours?

  2. From poetofmidnight:

    The only people who know about my blog are my parents. None of my friends know. I suppose I like having my own secret world. I’m sure I’ll spread the word once my blog gains more comments and more of my writing. By the way on your behindcerulean blog I took the challenge of trying to write a 1000 word description of that image with the sun set and the shadow like trees. It ended up being a Sestina poem (very difficult poetry form to write in) that wasn’t close to being a thousand words. So perhaps I’ll try it again later. I wanted to say, though, thank you for the inspiration. If I never saw that picture the poem wouldn’t be in existence.

    • No problem. I’ve never heard of a Sestina. Might have to try it out now. I’m so used to free verse these days I don’t even really think about the actual forms out there. Now I’ve got a goal to work towards. So thank you ^_^

Leave a Reply

