My Romeo

Standard

Might I refresh your memory, my love?
That you might one day see the truth beneath.
For longing lives in passion long dreamt of
and titles may veil the veracity bequeathed.
In death, in life, Romeo, my fool,
caught the edge of poison on blundered lips.
and for Juliet, the same fate so cruel
that she left him with his one final kiss.
But longing live on, as such in their hearts
for I request the pyre beneath the ash.
A future well desired, but without start
and our past so repproachably rehashed.
Do not become my Romeo my sweet,
For I can’t allow you to die for me.

This is my first attempt at a sonnet since about eighth grade. I figured, since I’m going Shakespearean, it’s the perfect chance to write the poem I’ve been tossing around in my mind the past couple of days. It was mostly just experimentation. I have worked with free verse so much, I rarely ever try any poetry forms. I think it’s about time I start challenging myself a little bit.

About Mattie J.

My name is Mattie J. Hamilton, and I am seventeen years old. I live in a cute little house in the country in Southern Indiana, and have lived there my entire life. I self-published two books of poetry a few years ago, but I much prefer writing fiction of poetry, journalism, or any other sort of writing. I'm somewhat new to the blogging world, and I may come off as a bit of an ameteur, but hey, I am an ameteur. Proud of it. After all, I'm just a kid, and I have plenty of time to learn.

4 responses »

  1. I definetly get the Shakespearean feel to this. It was a good idea to use Romeo and Juliet. I agree that I wouldn’t want a man to be my Romeo either because I couldn’t let him die for me. This is very different than some of the free verse poems of yours I’ve read. I think its very good for having it been such a long time since you’ve written a sonnet. Also, I finally posted the Sestina poem that’s based on your picture. Check it out when you have time, your opinion would be greatly valued.

    • To tell the truth, I’m not even a real fan of Shakespear, lol. After reading Romeo and Juliet, I was thoroughly unsatisfied. Romeo was a pig who fell in love with Juliet immediately after loving Rosaline. Then in a span of two days, the two are so “in love” they are willing to kill themselves for each other? REALLY? Not buying it. They were both idiots. I’d die in the name of love any day, but in the name of LOVE not infatuation. But I digress, haha.

      Anyway, I’ll check it out right now ^_^

Leave a Reply

