Still Burning Bright

Standard

I awoke on the morn’
at such an early hour;
the sun had not yet taken her throne.
The souls of the lost,
and the burned, and the bright
watched me watching their unknown.
Millions of eyes in the wake
with wide open lids
that carry wishes upon heavy hearts,
to the beams into Heaven
to place at God’s feet
with a dream that they may find a new start.

But instead of silver chariots
racing into the dawn,
I watch the lone hole burned into the sky.
A darkening red, pink
and a crimson-colored tale
soaring across the worlds in my eyes.
And I think of the stars
most of which all gone now,
for so many millions of years in the past.
And I wonder of this one,
and what was his fate?
And how long was he able to last?

He burns so much brighter,
stands so much taller,
an unspoken pride in his blaze.
A pyre behind him
with a trailing veil of ash
and the stars that, for him, would part ways.
And his passion is stronger,
and his power is pure,
and he resembles a lion with a mane.
Announcing to his pride
that he alone, would be king,
and all others who oppose should be slain.

And I wonder, with fear
that he might dissolve,
the brightest fires always burn out the first.
I yearn for his words,
for his promise, his vow
that in a few million years he won’t burst.
That as I watch him now,
a million years in the past
he is not already gone.
That as I watch him now,
he is as he was
and he has not left the others to burn alone.

A small comfort to me,
that passion will not burn out
that love itself shall never be smothered.
That the burning star to me
is still passionately
burning bright for now and forever.

Well, the surgery went well (obviously, I’m still here, aren’t I?). Like I said, it was just a minor little surgery, and I was literally out of the hospital by about 10 in the morning. Which was pretty amazing really, and now my surgeries are ALL over! I’m so glad!

This is all about love, and the idea that love is not like a star, or a flame. I always thought it was interesting that when you look up at the stars at night, most of them are already dead. They are so far away, we are looking at the stars that are millions of years older, because that’s how long the light takes to reach the earth. And the saying goes that the brightest stars burn out the fastest.

Love is different. Love and passion that burn bright in the beginning do not necessarily burn out the fastest. If it is true love, passion will never leave the relationship, and the love will never burn out. True love is nothing like a star, it’s eternal.

About Mattie J.

My name is Mattie J. Hamilton, and I am seventeen years old. I live in a cute little house in the country in Southern Indiana, and have lived there my entire life. I self-published two books of poetry a few years ago, but I much prefer writing fiction of poetry, journalism, or any other sort of writing. I'm somewhat new to the blogging world, and I may come off as a bit of an ameteur, but hey, I am an ameteur. Proud of it. After all, I'm just a kid, and I have plenty of time to learn.

7 responses »

Leave a Reply

