Awaiting the Dawn

Standard

Been standing here for what seems like forever,
yearning for the moment we might be together.
And the time upon us comes as no surprise,
though I wish I’d watched the sun set in your eyes.

Been watching the east for far too many days now,
waiting for the day you’ll pass my way now.
Shall I count the times that I’ve whispered your name now?
No perhaps, that might seem just a tad too much.

The panthers of the night have strayed from homes to join me
prowling on careful paws and eyes trained on the east.
Waiting for the dawn that we have sought for far too long,
and upon morning break, they shall finally leave me.

But until that moment that you take their place,
here beside me, waiting for you, they’ll remain.
The only chance I have for things to feel the same,
because the day you walked into my life, everything changed.

About Mattie J.

My name is Mattie J. Hamilton, and I am seventeen years old. I live in a cute little house in the country in Southern Indiana, and have lived there my entire life. I self-published two books of poetry a few years ago, but I much prefer writing fiction of poetry, journalism, or any other sort of writing. I'm somewhat new to the blogging world, and I may come off as a bit of an ameteur, but hey, I am an ameteur. Proud of it. After all, I'm just a kid, and I have plenty of time to learn.

8 responses »

  1. Pingback: Awaiting the Dawn (via MJ’s Whisper) « Loopy's Expressions

Leave a Reply

