He Almost Kissed Me

Standard

I had a dream he almost kissed me,
as I pulled away, he said he missed me,
As I turned to leave, he tried to stop me
as I walked away, by my arm, he caught me.

He told me he was struggling to figure it out,
confided in me that he had begun to doubt.
Every time, it seemed, that he could turn around
he saw me there, he said, but to honor he was bound.

“Do you not love me?” he asked as if he wondered.
It was an answer I had not seconds to ponder.
I did not love him, will never, he was my blunder
and his deceit to her sent me asunder.

I told him he and I would never be.
He pulled me close and begged for me to see.
I pushed him away and asked he not touch me.
I crossed my arms and waited for him to speak.

He sighed and gazed into my eyes.
Opened his mouth, he asked, “What happened to you and I?”
“We never loved,” I said. “You were just blind.
What was never there cannot simply die.”

I turned my back and allowed a moment to fall.
I walked away and I left it all.
The past, long buried, to Hell with call.
I damned this moment, damned to a fault.

And then I woke to sweet home of old,
these fresh Hells, I was never told.
Illusion, only, that would not hold.
Life would go on, snugly in its mold.

About Mattie J.

My name is Mattie J. Hamilton, and I am seventeen years old. I live in a cute little house in the country in Southern Indiana, and have lived there my entire life. I self-published two books of poetry a few years ago, but I much prefer writing fiction of poetry, journalism, or any other sort of writing. I'm somewhat new to the blogging world, and I may come off as a bit of an ameteur, but hey, I am an ameteur. Proud of it. After all, I'm just a kid, and I have plenty of time to learn.

5 responses »

    • I don’t try it all that often, because it is hard and it often comes off as stilted and hack-kneed. After all, who rhymes in actual speech? Well… I do… But I’m the quirky writer type, so that’s just me. Mostly it just annoys people and makes them hate me, haha.

Leave a Reply

