We’re Heartbroken

Standard

A tiny little piece, with luck will last forever
another with little grooves, and the two shards fit together.
Rusting in the rain, worn raw by the weather.
Two tiny pieces: molded forever.

Too many drops spilled of your innocent crimson.
Blood stains on the floor, I’m cleaning them again,
with soap and with silver, the stains start to glisten.
But shan’t ever fade away, memories etched in crimson.

You are standing at my side, lift me up into your arms.
Keep me safe, keep me sound, out of reach from this harm.
Tell me sweet, tell me kind, what you feel in your heart.
Kiss me once, kiss me twice, hold me tight in your arms.

We are broken, lost and found in quite so many ways.
I’m a piece, you’re a piece, and together, I pray.
Jagged edges hard to match, but without toll to pay
because two pieces of a whole fit in one perfect way.

Our heart is broken in two pieces, but it is easy to mend,
fit your half next to mine and we are together again.
A memory, a stolen kiss and all of the places we’ve been.
So long as you fit to me, we are one heart on the mend.

I love you with all my heart, and I hope that’s okay
but it is only half while you are away.
Do not keep me from you, please, please keep me safe.
We two are broken, but we two will be okay.

About Mattie J.

My name is Mattie J. Hamilton, and I am seventeen years old. I live in a cute little house in the country in Southern Indiana, and have lived there my entire life. I self-published two books of poetry a few years ago, but I much prefer writing fiction of poetry, journalism, or any other sort of writing. I'm somewhat new to the blogging world, and I may come off as a bit of an ameteur, but hey, I am an ameteur. Proud of it. After all, I'm just a kid, and I have plenty of time to learn.

4 responses »

    • The surgery went very well, thank you. ^_^ I think it’s more a combination of some very close friends and too many nights left alone in my thoughts. My friends have called me a closet philosipher who should probably never be left alone for that reason, haha.

Leave a Reply

