Never Neverland

Standard

I woke up early one night, at near dawn.
Light was just off the shore, of lost causes.
I spent a moment without, so alone.
And gazed into the sky, sought for pauses.
And there above me hovered a boy,
a smirk wide and clear on his blushing cheeks.
He lifted me to the sky, in stories,
and rescued me from the future,  he speaks.
And brings me into a world of forever.
Burns the fires in holes left forgotten.
And torches of what we’d be together.
Flames of whispers of gowns in pure satin.
Never meant to grow up in Neverland,
I’ll spend my life with this boy, Peter Pan.

I’ve decided I really like the form of a sonnet, so in an attempt to condition myself to only use the words I need most, I’m going to start writing in sonnet form. I’ll give myself a week for this, then I’ll go back to freeverse. Time for a little experimentation.

About Mattie J.

My name is Mattie J. Hamilton, and I am seventeen years old. I live in a cute little house in the country in Southern Indiana, and have lived there my entire life. I self-published two books of poetry a few years ago, but I much prefer writing fiction of poetry, journalism, or any other sort of writing. I'm somewhat new to the blogging world, and I may come off as a bit of an ameteur, but hey, I am an ameteur. Proud of it. After all, I'm just a kid, and I have plenty of time to learn.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

