Melt the Ice Away

Standard

Upon bare feet tread smooth
ice-cold, soft-blue;
step after step–place each with care
frozen tundra before me, hoping he might be there.
But no one, not a soul, I remain alone.
Too far to try to return safely home.
With eyes cast below, staring into the sea,
a thin layer of ice between the ocean and me.
Days turn to weeks, I drown in the rain
suffering the heart for him that still remains.
Rubbed raw and empty, searching in vain.
Ears caught in illusion as his ghost whispers my name.
Only, he whispers again, a voice in the breeze,
a desperate cry that lingers, haunting me.
Over and over, my eyes lift from the ground;
before me, he smiles, without making a sound.
I run to him fast, far and away
toes slipping on sleet, I am nearly misplaced.
Scars scorch the ice, cracking under my feet.
Faster, I run, that they may not capture me.
Closer, I come, but after me still.
The cracks in the ice have one mind and one will.
But I reach him all the same, wrapped tight in his arms
spun on his heel, the whole world to discard.

But the sun peeks from the clouds, too soon to discover
the cracks become holes, our winter is over.
Around us, shines the sea as the ice melts away
a new dawn free of tundra, beginning this day.
He holds me tighter, moments soon, we will be drowned
with less and less ice to serve as our ground.
Kissed my forehead, promises forever, eternity with me
in Heaven, in Hell, together and strong, or at least we believe.
But when we look down, the ice melted away, our feet find soft earthy land,
an island, so small, that only we fit, alive by the sea, we still stand.

About Mattie J.

My name is Mattie J. Hamilton, and I am seventeen years old. I live in a cute little house in the country in Southern Indiana, and have lived there my entire life. I self-published two books of poetry a few years ago, but I much prefer writing fiction of poetry, journalism, or any other sort of writing. I'm somewhat new to the blogging world, and I may come off as a bit of an ameteur, but hey, I am an ameteur. Proud of it. After all, I'm just a kid, and I have plenty of time to learn.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

