Burying All of the Evidence

Standard

Ill with sharp suspicion.
A conscience guiding my intuition,
with ignorance,
tainted with a poison.
Flooding riverbanks, drowning innocents
setting black fire to the grass
scorching my slipping feet on coal-warm ash.

What have I done?

Thick veils of darkness cast in shadow.
No one will ever know;
but it was me.
A mask, ghost smile, lips pure white
blood stains on child hands
doused in poison to wash away
cold and angry;
spent and frayed.
And remain in poison
until so charred
that my fingerprints
have faded away.

So charred, they’ve burned black.

A knowing moon, a Cheshire moon
a white-tooth smirk spread wide.
He knows but silent on a useless tongue
and mocks me on a Harvest Moon.
Stained crimson with unspoken rue,
a travesty I have spent on you,
but unbetrayed by an accusing moon
whom weeps rain
in memories to you.

And I am sorry.

With shovel in grave, I fall into the earth,
gather myself and continue on as before.
Until eyes of the moon cannot see me,
have no bearing.
But I still feel guilty
as I fill this grave; condemned to
walk below the ground, beneath ash.
Beneath dust and damn, beneath contempt;
I bury you and this evidence.

And shall place no stone above this grave
that I and others may never remember.

Before you ask, no I didn’t kill anyone. And honestly, I haven’t done anything really bad in awhile. This is mostly just a release  of guilty emotions I’ve felt for a long time.

I’m sorry I haven’t been updating lately. I’ve been too busy. I’m going to try to update a little more often, if I can manage it.

About Mattie J.

My name is Mattie J. Hamilton, and I am seventeen years old. I live in a cute little house in the country in Southern Indiana, and have lived there my entire life. I self-published two books of poetry a few years ago, but I much prefer writing fiction of poetry, journalism, or any other sort of writing. I'm somewhat new to the blogging world, and I may come off as a bit of an ameteur, but hey, I am an ameteur. Proud of it. After all, I'm just a kid, and I have plenty of time to learn.

Leave a Reply

