Heart of Void

Standard

I have learned the wary, sentry stare
of a child lamb turned prey.
I have severed every accursed tie
to every foe that made me this way.
I have accustomed such a marvelous loss
that spoiled is so small.
I know not what bows of rain may come
or if they may dance at all.

And in golden petals of silver blooms
a mirror made shine of delicate legs
among bees and butterflies, and scent alike,
pollen crossed land on teardrop dregs.
Towering above a soundless night,
above clouds, watchful eyes: curious.
And perhaps, tinted with envy of costly endeavors
mentioned whispered ominous.

And puppet strings bound hands as chains,
held prisoner to sweet harmony,
sung soft by lips flushed pink, and swollen by kiss
and carried messenger by the breeze.
Into dark and cavernous hollowed cove,
strangled breathless by plush, green moss.
Devoid of knowledge or sympathy,
but lest also devoid of loss.

Heart tainted by unaltered love,
and echos the same sweet tune.
Void of all other emotions kind, and barren
of everything but you.

About Mattie J.

My name is Mattie J. Hamilton, and I am seventeen years old. I live in a cute little house in the country in Southern Indiana, and have lived there my entire life. I self-published two books of poetry a few years ago, but I much prefer writing fiction of poetry, journalism, or any other sort of writing. I'm somewhat new to the blogging world, and I may come off as a bit of an ameteur, but hey, I am an ameteur. Proud of it. After all, I'm just a kid, and I have plenty of time to learn.

9 responses »

Leave a Reply

