Anyone Out There? (No More Star-Crossed Teens)

Standard

Is there anyone out there,
unbroken, outspoken
with a smile on her face?

Is there anyone still out there,
who’s breathing and living
with every memory sacred of every day?

Let there be
a heart.
Let every song be heard
and harmony so sweet.
Let every moment be
a start.
A beginning so beautiful
that one cannot help but believe.
Let there be
an ocean,
to swallow every sorrow
that we leave.
Let there be
the moon,
by which the dawn may shed light
on every last star-crossed teen.

Let there be no more star-crossed teens.

Is there anyone out there,
with unwavering optimism
that this will all turn out all right?

Is there anyone still out there,
with a heart on her sleeve
that she would give for a price.

Is there anyone out there,
who might pay cost of love
to love her where she stands?

Is there anyone left out there,
with the comprehension bold
that one might still understand?

Is there anyone out there?
Do you believe that this
could ever affect you?

Is there anyone still out there,
with the believe in love
past every torturing, heart-wrenching rue?

About Mattie J.

My name is Mattie J. Hamilton, and I am seventeen years old. I live in a cute little house in the country in Southern Indiana, and have lived there my entire life. I self-published two books of poetry a few years ago, but I much prefer writing fiction of poetry, journalism, or any other sort of writing. I'm somewhat new to the blogging world, and I may come off as a bit of an ameteur, but hey, I am an ameteur. Proud of it. After all, I'm just a kid, and I have plenty of time to learn.

9 responses »

  1. ahh..the questions are one way very simple..and one way unanswerable.. intelligent writing and true…
    “Is there anyone out there,
    who might pay cost of love
    to love her where she stands?” true..i loved this..

      • no no.. i feel otherwise.. these days everyone say they love..say they fell in love..and they will love one forever and they yet know they fake.. it is the truth that is getting rare.. it is good that is getting fewer. every teen has got something to do with love and in my life, i have seen only one or two who are true to their own self. nay, the teens are going pomp about love these days. i donno, this the matter down here in our country, India. But all the same, love, if truth be held, is one that makes you pay a price but yet makes us happy.

        and love has turned into a daily mocking for many of the teens. its pity..back in our country, many women are cheated so.. pity, but truth be told..
        there are people who can be true to love, till the existence of their souls..
        but there are quite a staggering number who name any physical attraction love.

        p.s : hope i din’ deviate from the subject.. it hurts, to know what true love is and also to know how teens like me,you,many of us misuse it spoil others’ lives.

      • I agree. As a senior in high school myself, I see teenagers every day insisting they know what love is. Silly seventh graders who have dated for four weeks, or freshman who have kissed and automatically think they love each other. It makes me sad to think that they can be so utterly convinced.

        Honestly, I’m a teenager too. I’m only seventeen. And in a lot of eyes, I may appear to be another one of those silly girls who doesn’t understand love. But I like to think I’m a little different. Having known the man I love for years on end, and being his best friend for three of those, I think the friendship helped build a strong structure beneath us before we even considered a relationship. I was in love with him far before we had any physical interaction, so the physical thing has nothing to do with love itself.

        But hey, who knows? Maybe I am one of those silly teenage girls. I’m willing to be one for a little while if it means I can be happy. πŸ™‚

  2. I’m glad I’ve had a chance to visit your blog again. I loved the line “Is there anyone out there who might pay the cost of love?” Brilliant. I’ve noticed that love seems to be a theme in many of your poems. Love is such a labyrinth; it twists this way and that way and it’s always different for each person. The definition of it is subjective I suppose. Anyway, another one your creations I that I’ve enjoyed (nice idea with the star-crossed-teens title) =)

    • Thank you ^_^. My poetry has always been about love. It used to be the lust for it, now it’s more the expression of it. If theres anything in the world I’ve always wanted, it’s love. I literally almost gave up my writing for it at one point, because all the passion I had for writing had drained into my relationship instead and I just couldn’t get it back. It took awhile, but finally I found a way to separate the two πŸ™‚

  3. This poem really touch me, practically brought tears to my eyes….It brought me back to that star-crossed little girl I was a long long LONG time ago. Beautifully done, so much heart.

Leave a Reply

