Let’s Give it All

Standard

Let’s pretend, just one moment,
give me a moment
in silly fantasy,
pretend that nothing ever happened,
pretend you always
loved me.

Let’s pretend that there was no one else
as if the world
was barren.
Let’s give it a moment and pretend
that we are now
the two that we have always been.

Let’s give it a moment, spend it a wish
give us a chance to believe everything but this.
Give me a chance, let’s pretend we don’t know,
there was no past, no before.
Let’s give it all.

Let’s pretend
that we were
who we are.
Because who we are,
is perfect.

Even if only to us.

About Mattie J.

My name is Mattie J. Hamilton, and I am seventeen years old. I live in a cute little house in the country in Southern Indiana, and have lived there my entire life. I self-published two books of poetry a few years ago, but I much prefer writing fiction of poetry, journalism, or any other sort of writing. I'm somewhat new to the blogging world, and I may come off as a bit of an ameteur, but hey, I am an ameteur. Proud of it. After all, I'm just a kid, and I have plenty of time to learn.

5 responses »

  1. MJ, this is a fantastic poem. I would like to feature it on my blog in December. I have a series I run once a month called Poetic License and I still have room for December. Please let me know. Thanks.

    Also you can check out October’s Poetic License to see what it looks like.

  2. The last stanza really hit me. “Let’s pretend…Even if only to us”. Another of one of your moving poems about love. I’m happy I’ve had a chance to come back to your blog; I want to nominate you for the Versatile Blogger Award. You’re very much worthy of it.

Leave a Reply

